Lies, just great stories ruined by truth

“Lies are just great stories ruined by truth”
-Barney Stinton

Scripture)
Save, O Lord, for the godly one is gone; for the faithful have vanished from among the children of man.
Everyone utters lies to his neighbor; with flattering lips and a double heart they speak.
-Psalms 12

Observation)
David crying out to God makes a statement still true to this day: “Everyone utters lies”. This future king of Israel laments that which he will in time commit himself against the faithful Uriah. This tells me that no one is “safe” from the life of a divided heart, with lips set out about the will of its own.

Application)
“Fake it till you make it”; a common rationality in most all generations. If my heart is truly set on God then I must fight against division in my heart. I cannot forget the words spoken on this journey to Hawaii, “I just want to be where you want me to be…I am tired of living life half heartedly.” Instead of seeking to manipulate others into what I think is the right way, I must let the truth of God to speak and I to be silent.

Published by

Bryan Switalski

Bryan Switalski is a graphic designer from California. He studied art life long, loves creative challenge and explores the depths of the imagination. Bryan currently resides in Hawaii where he is expanding his field of work as Owner of SwissCo (www.swissco.us).

Leave a comment